Deliver Your News to the World

USDA-DOE Announce More Speakers For National Renewable Energy Conference


WASHINGTON, D.C.- Monday, September 25, 2006-The U.S. Departments of Energy (DOE) and Agriculture (USDA) today announced an updated list of distinguished speakers for Advancing Renewable Energy: An American Rural Renaissance, a conference jointly hosted by the two agencies. The conference aims to get the best minds together - key stakeholders in biofuels, wind, and solar energy - to discuss and ultimately help accelerate the research, development and deployment of alternative energy sources, the crux of President Bush’s Advanced Energy Initiative. Advancing Renewable Energy is scheduled for October 10-12, 2006, at America’s Center in St. Louis, Missouri.

Newly confirmed conference speakers include:

* Stephen L. Johnson, Administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
* Jim Talent, U.S. Senator, Missouri
* S. Richard Tolman, Chief Executive Officer, National Corn Grower Association and
* Randall Swisher, Executive Director of the American Wind Energy Association, will serve as Masters of Ceremonies

Leaders from government and industry will address renewable energy topics such as: building supply and distribution; encouraging demand; adapting and building infrastructure; creating effective market models and partnerships; what the USDA and DOE are doing to advance renewable energy, as well as other timely topics. View the conference agenda at www.AdvancingRenewableEnergy.Gov.

The following are conference keynote speakers to date:

* Samuel Bodman--U.S. Secretary of Energy
* Mike Johanns--U.S. Secretary of Agriculture
* Red Cavaney--President and Chief Executive Officer, API
* Dr. Keith Collins, Chief Economist, U.S. Department of Agriculture
* Thomas C. Dorr, Under Secretary for Rural Development and Chairman of the USDA Energy Policy Committee
* Charles O. Holliday Jr., Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, DuPont
* Stephen L. Johnson, Administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
* Alexander Karsner--Assistant Secretary for Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, U.S. Department of Energy
* Vinod Khosla--Founder, Khosla Ventures; Co-Founder of Sun Microsystems; former Partner of Kleimer, Perkins, Kaufield & Byers, a venture capital firm
* Robert W. Lane--Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Deere and Company
* Dr. Raymond L. Orbach--Director, Office of Science, U.S. Department of Energy
* Matthew Simmons--Chariman and Chief Executive Officer, Simmons and Company International, a specialized energy investment banking firm
* Frederick L. Webber, President and Chief Executive Officer, Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers
* Patricia A Woertz--President, Chief Executive Officer, and Member of the Board of Directors, Archer Daniels Midland Company
* Pat Wood III--Chairman, North American Advisory Board, Airtricity, Inc.; former Chairman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
* James R. Woolsey--Vice President, Booz Allen Hamilton; former Director, Central Intelligence Agency

The following are conference panelists to date:

* Joe Jobe, CEO, National Biodiesel Board
* Mike Muston, Executive Vice President, Corporate Development, Broin Associates
* Don Endres, Chairman, and CEO, VeraSun
* Craig F. Rockey, Senior Vice President, Policy & Economics, Association of American Railroads
* Amory B. Lovins, Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Rocky Mountain Institute
* Dr. Robert T. Fraley, Executive Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, Monsanto Company
* Allen Rider, Steering Committee Member, 25x25 Ag Energy Project, Former President of New Holland North America, President, RGC
* Alan Waxman, Managing Director, Goldman-Sachs
* Thomas A. Wind, Professional Engineer, Owner, Wind Utility Consulting
* Joe Desmond, Under Secretary for Energy Affairs, California Resources Agency
* Greg Burger, President, CEO and Chairman of the Board, Minnwest Bank
* Professor Robert J. Thomas, Electrical Engineering, Cornell University
* Bob Dinneen, President and Chief Executive Officer, Renewable Fuels Association
* Robert B. Engel, President and Chief Executive Officer, CoBank
* Dr. Richard L. Sandor, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Chicago Climate Exchange
* Representative Carl Holmes, Kansas House of Representatives, Immediate past chairman National Council of State Legislators
* Vijay V. Vaitheeswaran, Author, Global Correspondent, The Economist
* Dr. Donald L. Paul, Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, Chevron
* Michael Eckhart, President, American Council on Renewable Energy
* Kevin D. Best, Chief Executive Officer and Founding Partner, Real Energy LLC
* Glen English, Chief Executive Officer, National Rural Electric Cooperative Association
* Howard A. Learner, President and Executive Director, Environmental Law and Policy Center
* Dr. Dan E. Arvizu, Director, DOE’s National Renewable Energy Laboratory.

Attendance is open to the public. Anyone involved with renewable energy is encouraged to attend, including transportation, finance, and investment officials; other Federal and State Government officials; and elected officials. All attendees must register for the conference, including press, who may attend without charge.

Attendees and press can register online at .


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.