Deliver Your News to the World

EA Expands Dark Age Of Camelot® With Labyrinth Of The Minotaur™


Grab the bull by the horns in the seventh expansion to the epic fantasy MMORPG

REDWOOD CITY, Calif. – August 16, 2006 – Electronic Arts (NASDAQ: ERTS) announced today Labyrinth of the Minotaur, the seventh expansion to the epic fantasy MMORPG Dark Age of Camelot. Currently in development at EA Mythic (formerly Mythic Entertainment), the expansion is scheduled to ship in the US in late 2006 for the PC.
“I can’t think of any better way to celebrate the 5th anniversary of Dark Age of Camelot than with the release of a new expansion for the players,” said Walt Yarbrough, Producer of Dark Age of Camelot. “This exciting, story-driven content will bring new thrills to an already vibrant and thriving game world. There is no better time to be playing Camelot than right now!”
The ancient race of Minotaur has returned to Camelot, and they seek the help of the mightiest warriors from the three warring Realms. Powerful Minotaur Relics, long hidden and sealed away, have been unearthed, and their corrupting influence now threatens the world of Camelot.
To combat this growing evil, Labyrinth of the Minotaur introduces the first new playable race to the Realms in two years – the Minotaur. Half man, half bull, the Minotaur’s strength is so great he can wield two-handed weapons with a single hand. The introduction of this new race will allow even the most seasoned players to experience the world of Camelot from an entirely new perspective.
In return for aiding their tribes, the Minotaur emissaries have agreed to share the secret of a new player class, the Mauler. Experienced players from any Realm can unlock this new brawling class. With the ability to channel the elemental powers of the earth, the Mauler brings a new set of skills and abilities to the game for a fresh take on Player vs. Environment (PvE) quests and Realm vs. Realm™ (RvR) combat. In addition, the emissaries of the Minotaur can help any Champion of the Realms expand their powers and abilities with five new Champion Levels.
In their search for the Minotaur Relics, players will journey deep beneath the Frontiers to explore the vast Labyrinth, the largest single dungeon in any MMO. This dungeon contains exciting new PvE quests, new encounters, and challenging new areas for RvR combat. The Labyrinth is filled with great evil, but even greater treasures, including new Mythical items, which can be found by the bravest of adventurers. Players who recover one of the Minotaur relics may use the item, but become targets to be hunted by the other Realms. This new RvR game play will bring Camelot’s popular relic raid experience to small groups on a daily basis.
Players that pre-order the expansion will receive an exclusive pet, the Clockwork Kitten, to accompany them on their journeys throughout the Realms.

Further details about the expansion will be revealed at the upcoming Roundtable Fan Gathering on September 29-30 in Las Vegas, NV. For more information about the Roundtable Fan Gathering, please visit
Dark Age of Camelot: Labyrinth of the Minotaur has not yet been rated by the ESRB. For more information about the expansion, please visit: For information about all of EA’s games, please visit EA’s press site at
# # #
About Dark Age of Camelot ®
Celebrating its five year anniversary in October 2006, Dark Age of Camelot is a massively-multiplayer online role-playing game (“MMORPG”) featuring Realm vs. Realm™ combat, EA Mythic’s unique take on Player vs. Player action. In addition, the game features multiple class and race combinations, a robust trade skill system, and a comprehensive player Guild system. The world of Dark Age of Camelot features three Realms at war – Midgard, Hibernia and Albion. Based on the mythologies of Viking-era Scandinavia, ancient Ireland, and Arthurian Britain, respectively, the once-peaceful Realms began to battle after the death of King Arthur. Players quest, fight monsters, form guilds and eventually gain enough power to defend their Realm from enemies. Since its release in October 2001, Dark Age of Camelot has received critical acclaim, including Online Game of the Year by Computer Games Magazine and Computer Gaming World, and PC Game of the Year by USA Today and MSNBC. After five years and hundreds of thousands of players, Dark Age of Camelot has proven to be an enduring success.
For more information about Dark Age of Camelot, visit

About Electronic Arts
Electronic Arts Inc. (EA), headquartered in Redwood City, California, is the world’s leading interactive entertainment software company. Founded in 1982, the company develops, publishes, and distributes interactive software worldwide for videogame systems, personal computers and the Internet. Electronic Arts markets its products under four brand names: EA SPORTS™, EA™, EA SPORTS BIG™ and POGO™. In fiscal 2006, EA posted revenue of $2.95 billion and had 27 titles that sold more than one million copies. EA’s homepage and online game site is More information about EA’s products and full text of press releases can be found on the Internet at
Electronic Arts, EA, EA SPORTS, EA SPORTS BIG and POGO are trademarks or registered trademarks of Electronic Arts Inc. in the U.S. and/or other countries. All Rights Reserved.
Mythic Entertainment, Dark Age of Camelot, and Labyrinth of the Minotaur are trademarks or registered trademarks of Mythic Entertainment, Inc. in the U.S. and/or other countries. All rights reserved.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.