Deliver Your News to the World

Dennis, Jessup to lead American Heart Association in 2013-14


NewMediaWire via Webwire

DALLAS, July 1, 2013 Ė The American Heart Association has announced its national officers for the 2013-14 fiscal year, which begins July 1.

Bernie Dennis, owner of Dennis Associates, LLC, in Sudbury, Mass., is chairman. Mariell Jessup, M.D., medical director of the Penn Heart and Vascular Center in Philadelphia, is president.

As chairman, Dennis will be responsible for the associationís business affairs, public relations and fundraising, and will preside over all board of directors and administrative cabinet meetings. An association volunteer for more than 15 years, Dennis was the associationís treasurer in 2011-12 and chairman of its Founders Affiliate from 2008 to 2010. He is also a past chairman of the organizationís Rochester, N.Y., Division.

As president, Jessup will serve as chief volunteer scientific and medical officer, responsible for medical, scientific and public health matters. A volunteer for more than 15 years, Jessup was chairperson of the associationís Committee on Scientific Sessions Program in 2009 and 2010, and chaired the committee that created the 2009 revision of the American College of Cardiology Foundation/American Heart Association Guidelines for the Management of Congestive Heart Failure.

The association has also announced its 2013-14 treasurer, chairman-elect and president-elect.

David Bush, executive vice president of The First, A National Banking Association, in Hattiesburg, Miss., is treasurer. In this role, Bush will be responsible for the associationís funds and securities. He was the 2010-12 chairman of the associationís Greater Southeast Affiliate and has been a member of the national board of directors since 2011.

Alvin Royse, who retired as a senior partner with Deloitte & Touche in San Francisco in 2010, is chairman-elect. Royse just completed a one-year term as the associationís treasurer and is a past chairman of the organizationís Western States Affiliate and San Francisco Division.

Elliott Antman, M.D., professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School and a senior physician in the Cardiovascular Division of the Brigham and Womenís Hospital in Boston, is president-elect. Antman was chairperson of the associationís Committee on Scientific Sessions in 2011 and 2012, and received the organizationís Award of Meritorious Achievement in 2006.

About the American Heart Association
The American Heart Association is devoted to saving people from heart disease and stroke Ė Americaís No. 1 and No.†4†killers. We team with millions of volunteers to fund innovative research, fight for stronger public health policies, and provide lifesaving tools and information to prevent and treat these diseases. The Dallas-based association is the nationís oldest and largest voluntary organization dedicated to fighting heart disease and stroke. To learn more or to get involved, call†1-800-AHA-USA1, visit†††or call any of our offices around the country.


For Media Inquiries:††(214) 706-1173
Carrie Thacker:†(214) 706-1665;†


This news content may be integrated into any legitimate news gathering and publishing effort. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.