Deliver Your News to the World

Clark Gregg, Kimberly Peirce, Jason Schwartzman and Quvenzhané Wallis to Present 2013 Student Academy Awards®


BEVERLY HILLS, CA – Actors Clark Gregg, Jason Schwartzman and Quvenzhané Wallis and director Kimberly Peirce have been tapped to present at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 40th Student Academy Awards on Saturday, June 8, at 7:30 p.m. at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater. Hosted by 1978 Student Academy Award® winner Bob Saget, the awards ceremony is the culmination of a week of industry activities that the Academy is hosting for the 16 student filmmakers from the U.S. and abroad who have been selected as winners this year.

Gregg will next be seen in Joss Whedon’s “Much Ado about Nothing,” opening Friday. Gregg’s other credits include “The Avengers,” “Iron Man” and “Trust Me,” which he also wrote and directed. He will be reprising his role as Agent Coulson in Marvel’s “Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.,” premiering this fall on ABC.

Schwartzman was most recently seen in the 2012 feature “Moonrise Kingdom.” His other acting credits include “The Darjeeling Limited” and “Rushmore.” He will next be seen in “Saving Mr. Banks,” directed by John Lee Hancock, scheduled to be released later this year.

Wallis earned a 2012 Oscar® nomination for Actress in a Leading Role for “Beasts of the Southern Wild.” Her upcoming projects include the title role in the remake of “Annie,” scheduled to be released in 2014.

Peirce has written and directed such films as “Stop-Loss” and “Boys Don’t Cry.” Her next film is the remake of “Carrie,” due out later this year.

A complete list of this year’s Student Academy Award winners can be found at:

While all winners know they will each receive an award, their placement – Gold, Silver or Bronze – will not be revealed until the June 8 ceremony. Gold Medal award winners receive cash grants of $5,000, Silver Medal award winners receive $3,000 and Bronze Medal award winners receive $2,000.

To follow the journey of the 2013 Student Academy Award winners, visit

The Academy established the Student Academy Awards in 1972 to support and encourage excellence in filmmaking at the collegiate level. Past Student Academy Award winners have gone on to receive 46 Oscar nominations and have won or shared eight awards. The roster includes such distinguished filmmakers as John Lasseter, Pete Docter, Robert Zemeckis, Trey Parker and Spike Lee.

The 40th Student Academy Awards ceremony on June 8 is free and open to the public, but advance tickets are required. Tickets are sold out, however, a standby line will form on the day of the event, and standby numbers will be assigned starting at approximately 5:30 p.m. The Samuel Goldwyn Theater is located at 8949 Wilshire Boulevard in Beverly Hills. For more information, call (310) 247-3600 or visit


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.