Deliver Your News to the World

Philanthropy experts to judge Beacon awards


The Beacon Fellowship and J.P. Morgan Private Bank have announced the judging panel for the 8th biennial Beacon Awards for Philanthropy, winners of which will be revealed on February 6th 2013 at a Mansion House awards ceremony. The eight judges all have deep experience as philanthropists or in the philanthropy world

The eight judges, who all have deep experience as philanthropists or in the philanthropy world, have been named as:

* Ex-BBC journalist Kate Adie OBE
* Entrepreneur and Dragon’s Den investor Duncan Bannatyne OBE
* Lord Mayor of the City of London Corporation Roger Gifford
* Ex-Chief Executive of the UK NSPCC Dame Mary Marsh
* Executive Chair of Pears Foundation and Chair of the Give More Campaign Trevor Pears CMG
* Deputy Chair of the British Council Baroness Usha Prashar CBE
* Founder of Womankind Worldwide Ethiopiaid and Reed Restart Sir Alec Reed CBE
* Head of UK Private Wealth Management at J.P. Morgan Private Bank Tracey Reddings

Tracey Reddings, Head of UK Private Wealth Management at J.P. Morgan Private Bank said:

““We are delighted to work with this group of esteemed philanthropy-focused individuals as part of the judging panel for this year’s Beacon Awards, the purpose of which is to celebrate individuals whose philanthropic efforts are making a sustainable difference or significant impact on a cause in the UK. The judging process has been tough, and we’ve seen a huge number of nominations this time around.””

The judges will decide on Judges’ Special Prizes to be given to philanthropists from the 2013 Beacon Fellows. The awards, sponsored by J.P. Morgan Private Bank with additional support from the City of London and Pears Foundation, provide an opportunity to recognise and celebrate the work of individuals who have set the standards of best practice in philanthropy, as well as inspire and encourage future philanthropists to give.

Beacon Judge, Lord Mayor of the City of London Corporation, Roger Gifford, commented:

““Philanthropy is especially important to the City of London; it is a place where wealth is generated and those institutions and individuals fortunate enough to be in receipt should feel encouraged to give-back and support their community. Nominations to this year’s Beacon Awards for Philanthropy have been exceptional, with many touching and inspirational entries. Judging is going to be a tough task, but it is a wonderful opportunity to recognise those philanthropists who have set aside time, money and thought to achieve effective philanthropy and make a real difference to society as well as help create a sense of community in supporting those less fortunate than themselves.” ”

The Beacon Awards Judges’ Special Prizes will be awarded by the Board of Judges, and Beacon Fellowships will be awarded by the Judging Committees.

Judging Committees

Dawn Austwick OBE
Diana Barran MBE
David Carrington
Philippa Charles
Stephen Cohen
Clive Cutbill
Rebecca Eastmond
Sir Christopher Gent
Charlie Green
Hugo Greenhalgh
David Hall
Kurt Hoffman
Lord Robin Janvrin GCB GCVO QSO PC
Kristoffer Jonsson
Tim Joss
Carol Lake
Stephen Lloyd
Clare Thomas MBE


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.