Deliver Your News to the World

Johan Fredrik Odfjell nominated as new chair of the board


May 26, 2006

Stock market announcement

The election committee in Statoil nominates Johan Fredrik Odfjell as new chair of the board to follow Jannik Lindbæk, who has declined re-election. Marit Arnstad is at the same time nominated as a new board member. Election of the new board will take place in the corporate assembly on 14 June.

”Jannik Lindbæk (67) took over as chair of the Statoil board in an exceptionally difficult situation for the group in the autumn of 2003. Under his chairmanship Statoil has seen its reputation improve, both nationally and internationally. The group has experienced strong growth and delivered its best result ever,” says Anne Kathrine Slungård, leader of the election committee.

”Statoil must now look further ahead. The group is facing new opportunities and challenges. With Johan Fredrik Odfjell (57) as new chair of the board and Marit Arnstad (44) as a new board member, the election committee believes Statoil is very well positioned to meet these challenges,” Ms Slungård says.

”As chair of the board for the past two and a half years I have seen Statoil’s position being strengthened. It has been a pleasure and a privilege to be able to contribute as chair of Statoil’s board during this period. I have gradually during the past year and based on an overall evaluation decided not to stand for re-election as chair of the board. I feel that I have accomplished the mission entrusted to me,” says Mr Lindbæk.

Johan Fredrik Odfjell has an MBA from the Norwegian School of Economics and Business Administration in Bergen and from the Harvard Business School. After some years as a consultant and project manager with Norse Petroleum, Mr Odfjell worked for the Vesta Group for more than 15 years at Vesta/Investa. He held managerial posts within industry, shipping and insurance. Mr Odfjell was chief executive of the Vesta group from 1986-1994 and was a member of Skandia’s corporate executive committee from 1989-1994.

Since 1994, Mr Odfjell has been chair of the boards of Amersham, IF Skadeforsikring, Nera, Nycomed, Orkla and Star Shipping. He is currently chair of the board of UMOE and J Martens, and board member of the National Venue of Theatre in Bergen and the Institute for Research in Economics and Business Administration (SNF). On becoming chair of Statoil, he will conclude his work with UMOE. Mr Odfjell lives in Bergen and is married with four children.

”Johan Fredrik Odfjell is one of the country’s most experienced and respected board members. His background includes board membership in international companies in many lines of business and in all phases. In light of his background the election committee believes that Mr Odfjell may contribute extensively to the further development of Statoil,” says Anne Kathrine Slungård.

Marit Arnstad is nominated as a new board member, succeeding Lars Thunell, who had to resign from the Statoil board at the turn of the year due to his job in the World Bank. A trained lawyer, Ms Arnstad was minister of petroleum and energy in the period 1997-2000 and a Member of Parliament representing the Centre Party in the periods 1993-97 and 2001-05.

Ms Arnstad has since the turn of 2005/06 worked for the Schjødt law firm in Trondheim, and combined her job as a lawyer with boardroom work. She is chair of the board of the Norwegian University of Science and Technology in Trondheim (NTNU). She sits on the boards of Pertra and Sintef Petroleumsforskning, but will resign from both of these offices in connection with her board membership in Statoil. Ms Arnstad is also on the board of NTE Nett and Aker Seafoods. Ms Arnstad lives in Stjørdal, near Trondheim, and has one child.

”Marit Arnstad’s great professional knowledge within the environmental and energy area, and extensive experience in the political arena, nationally and internationally, will be a great asset for the board,” says Anne Kathrine Slungård, leader of the election committee.

The election committee nominates the following for re-election: Kaci Kullmann Five as deputy chair of the board and Grace Reksten Skaugen, Ingrid Wiik, Knut Åm and Finn Hvistendahl as board members.

The nomination to the board is now being sent from the election committee to the corporate assembly, and final election will take place in their meeting on 14 June.

Published 05/26/2006 10:00:00 AM
Copyright © Statoil.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.