Deliver Your News to the World

KTM’s Eero Remes tops ISDE Day One in E1 and overall


KTM Enduro Factory rider Eero Remes, clearly comfortable on his home territory finished Day One of the 2011 ISDE in Kotka-Hamina Finland as the fastest rider of the day and for the E1 class.

Eero’s great opening ride contributed to the Finnish National Team leading the standings in this the oldest annual offroad event on the FIM Calendar.

Other strong E2 competitors were Spain’s young riders, Mario Roman and Lorenzo Santolino who finished 4-5.

KTM was also prominent in the E2 class with Kurt Caselli of the USA the fastest home through the woodlands and grass of Southern Finland where early morning rain held off in the afternoon allowing the track to dry out. Australia’s 4-Day Enduro winner Toby Price was fourth fastest E2 rider and KTM Enduro factory rider Cristobal Guerrero of Spain was close behind in fifth.

Finland, who field a strong lineup of riders are one of the favorites to take the title and finished first in the World Trophy competition after Day One of the ‘Six Days’. Spain was second and Australia finished third. In the Junior Category Sweden, France and Britain took the top three places and in the Junior Trophy it was France, Finland and Australia that took the honors.

The event, which is one of the highlights of the offroad racing calendar, has attracted national teams from all over the world as well as many amateur and club riders for whom it is the rider of a lifetime. The competition comprises five days of special tests, 1,500 km of riding through the picturesque landscape of Southern Finland and concludes on Saturday with a final test in the Karhula Motocross Arena.

Results Day One

1, Eero Remes, Finland KTM (fastest rider of the day)
2, Juha Salminen, Finland, Husqvarna
3, Matti Seistola, Finland, Husqvarna
4, Mario Roman, Spain, KTM
5, Lorenzo Santolino, Spain KTM

1, Kurt Caselli, USA, KTM
2, Matthew Phillips, Australia, Yamaha
3, Alex Salvani, Italy, Husqvarna
4, Toby Price, Australia, KTM
5, Cristobal Guerrero, Spain, KTM
Other KTM
7, Russell Bobbitt, USA, KTM
8, Jari Mattila, Finland, KTM
18, Cory Buttrick, USA, KTM

1, Marko Tarkkala, Finland, Husaberg
2, Ivan Cervantes, Spain, Gas-Gas
3, Joakim Ljunggren, Sweden, Husaberg
4, Oriol Mena, Spain, Husaberg
5, Valtteri Salonen, Finland, TM
6, Jonas Karlsson Sweden, KTM

World Trophy after Day One
1, Finland
2, Spain
3, Australia
4, USA
5, Italy

Junior Trophy
1, Sweden
2, France
3, Britain
4, Spain
5, Australia

Women’s Trophy
1, France
2, Finland
3, Australia
4, Sweden
5, USA


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.