Deliver Your News to the World

U.S. Olympic Committee And DHL Announce Winners Of The 2006 U.S. Paralympic Spirit Award Delivered By DHL


TORINO, ITALY -- March 20, 2006, Alpine Skier Andy Parr, Wheelchair Curler Danell Libby and the U.S. Paralympic Sled Hockey Team Voted As Best Representatives of Olympic Spirit During the 2006 Paralympic Winter Games

The United States Olympic Committee joined U.S. Paralympic Team supplier DHL today to announce the winners of the 2006 U.S. Paralympic Spirit Award Delivered by DHL.

Andy Parr, Danell Libby and the members of the U.S. Paralympic Sled Hockey Team, were selected by American fans, fellow Team USA athletes, U.S. alumni Paralympians, and participating members of the media for best representing “Olympic Spirit” during the 2006 Paralympic Winter Games. Athletes were selected based on their demonstration of Olympic Ideals and Olympic values such as courage, commitment, perseverance and vision, both in competition and in pursuit of their Paralympic dream. Votes were cast during the nine days of competition, beginning March 10, 2006 through March 19, 2006. Winners for each category are as follows:

- Male Category Winner: Andy Parr (Rockland, Maine) - Parr, who dreamt of becoming a pilot but began to lose his vision as a teenager from Macular Degeneration, was the only legally blind U.S. athlete competing in the 2006 Paralympic Winter Games. Parr channelled his energy into skiing success and in Salt Lake City in 2002 he captured the Paralympic bronze medal in alpine skiing. While Parr finished eighth in his event at the 2006 Paralympic Winter Games, his enthusiasm and competitive spirit inspired both teammates and fans alike.

- Female Category Winner: Danell Libby (Chatham, N.Y.) - Libby first competed in curling in 2002 and went on to compete with the U.S. Wheelchair Curling Team in Switzerland, where she and her teammates finished fifth in the World Championships. At this year’s Paralympic Winter Games, Libby was the sole female on the first U.S. Wheelchair Curling Team to compete in Paralympic history. Team USA tied for seventh in the round robin standings.

- Team Category Winner: 2006 U.S. Paralympic Sled Hockey Team - The 2006 squad earned a Paralympic bronze medal in Torino by defeating Team Germany by one point. The entire team continually demonstrated incredible passion for the sport and camaraderie among teammates and competitors. Additionally, sled hockey athlete Lonnie Hannah (Mansfield, Texas), who recently beat cancer, was selected as the flagbearer to represent the United States at the Closing Ceremony of the 2006 Paralympic Winter Games.

“In 2000, the United States Olympic Committee introduced the U.S. Paralympic Spirit Award, honoring those athletes who have inspired our country through their commitment to the Olympic Ideals,” said Joe Walsh, managing director of U.S. Paralympics. “Through the support of DHL, we are proud to recognize the athletes from this year’s Games for their pursuit of their Paralympic dreams and congratulate them for their excellence, both on and off the field of play.”

“The personal challenges faced, and conquered, by each of these incredible athletes is one that resonated with fans, teammates and the media for best encompassing what the Paralympic Spirit represents,” said Karen Jones, DHL vice president of brand, advertising and promotions. “DHL is honored to recognize these athletes for overcoming adversity and for serving as a role model to those who face personal challenges every day in their own lives.”

The winners will be honored at a U.S. Olympic and Paralympic Team celebration dinner on May 16, 2006 in Washington D.C. Additionally, DHL will provide a grant of $5,000 on behalf of each of the winners to a qualified Paralympic-related non-profit organization of their choice.

The U.S. Olympic Spirit Awards history began in 1968, when it was created by the USOC to honor the extraordinary achievements of the United States’ athletes. In 2000, the award was expanded to include the U.S. Paralympic Spirit Award, recognizing the excellence and efforts of athletes with physical disabilities. Past U.S. Olympic and Paralympic Spirit Award winners include Team DHL members Scott Hamilton (figure skating), Dan Jansen (speedskating), Chris Klug (snowboarding), Vonetta Flowers (bobsleigh) and Paralympian Sarah Will (alpine skiing).

About DHL

A supplier of the United States Olympic Committee (USOC), DHL is the Official Express Delivery and Logistics Provider of the 2006 United States Olympic and Paralympic Teams. DHL provides express delivery and logistics services to fulfill the shipping needs of the U.S. Olympic Committee and Teams, including sporting and medical equipment and Team apparel, and is committed to delivering the Olympic Spirit all across America.

Information about DHL’s Olympic Spirit Activation platform is available online at the DHL U.S. Olympic Spirit micro site (

At DHL, Customer Service is back in shipping. Our mission is to provide the most flexible, personable and enjoyable experience in the shipping industry for our customers.

With annual revenues over $32 billion in 2004, DHL is the global market leader of the international express and logistics industry, specializing in providing innovative and customized solutions from a single source.

DHL offers expertise in express, air and ocean freight, overland transport and logistics solutions, combined with worldwide coverage and an in-depth understanding of local markets. Over 170,000 employees are dedicated to providing fast and reliable services that exceed customers’ expectations. Founded in San Francisco in 1969, DHL’s international network links more than 220 countries and territories worldwide. For more information on DHL, please visit


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.