Deliver Your News to the World

NSB Assembles Expert Panel to Identify and Develop STEM Innovators to Foster U.S. Economic Strength and Competitiveness


Two-day discussion to be held at NSF Aug. 24-25, featuring Education Secretary Arne Duncan

Join a diverse group of experts from multiple disciplines as they promote U.S. economic well-being and competitiveness through the development of U.S. students with exceptional early potential for mathematics and science achievement into adults who can produce and innovate, especially in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) for a gathering sponsored by the National Science Board (NSB).

WHEN: Monday, Aug. 24, 8 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., and Tuesday, Aug. 25, 8 a.m. to 12:45 p.m.

WHERE: Room 1235 (Board Room) at the National Science Foundation, 4201 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, Va.


* Keynote address by the Honorable Arne Duncan, U.S. Secretary of Education (Aug. 25)
* Panel discussions to address:
o Cognitive and non-cognitive characteristics of an innovator
o Development of STEM innovators through the education system
o Informal learning, cyber-learning and innovative education
o Identification under-developed pools of STEM talent and the community role in fostering achievement
o Innovation ecology and entrepreneurship
o Existing government education programs, program assessment and effective policy design and implementation

See the full agenda:

Informed by the views of STEM leaders who have gathered for this two-day conference, the NSBís Committee on Education and Human Resources (CEH) and the CEH ad hoc Task Group on the Next Generation of STEM Innovators--composed of NSB members Camilla Benbow, John Bruer, Josť Marie Griffiths, Louis Lanzerotti and Diane Souvaine--will craft a recommendation-rich white paper for presentation to the full NSB.

Media representatives are invited to attend all open sessions, subject to provisions of the Government in the Sunshine Act. Journalists interested in attending and covering the meeting and/or interviewing participants, should contact Lisa-Joy Zgorski at 703-292-8311, by COB on Friday, August 21, 2009, to enable security arrangements.

Public visitors must arrange for a visitorís badge in advance in order to attend the event. E-mail with your name and organizational affiliation to request your badge, which will be ready for pick-up at the visitorís desk on the day of the meeting.

All meeting sessions will be held in room 1235 at NSF headquarters: 4201 Wilson Blvd., Arlington, Va. (Ballston metro stop).

The NSB is the 25-member policymaking body for the National Science Foundation and advisory body to the President and Congress on science and engineering issues. Drawn from universities and industry, and representing a variety of science and engineering disciplines and geographic areas, NSB members are selected for their eminence in research, education, or public service, and records of distinguished service. The NSB has 24 members that serve six-year terms. The 25th member is the NSF Director, an ex officio member of the NSB. For more background on the NSB and its current composition, visit:

The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency that supports fundamental research and education across all fields of science and engineering. In fiscal year (FY) 2009, its budget is $9.5 billion, which includes $3.0 billion provided through the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act. NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to over 1,900 universities and institutions. Each year, NSF receives about 44,400 competitive requests for funding, and makes over 11,500 new funding awards. NSF also awards over $400 million in professional and service contracts yearly.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.