Deliver Your News to the World

Guilty of a DUI or DWI? Important IDRC Info

Guilty of a DUI or DWI? Important IDRC Info that you should know


Anyone found guilty of a DUI/DWI is required to participate in the Intoxicated Driving Resource Center (IDRC) education program. Typically, a first offender receives a 12-hour sentence and a second offender receives a 48-hour sentence.  However, being a State bureaucracy, the IDRC Centers may require additional time of each participant. As of recent, and with this newly recognized power, the IDRC centers typically do require “additional treatment”.

New Jersey has an IDRC in each county for first and third-time offenders and three regional centers for second-time offenders. During the program, participants attend Alcohol and Highway Safety Education courses which include lectures, tests and films. IDRC also evaluates each offender for an alcohol or drug problem and determines the need for continued treatment. If treatment is needed, the IDRC refers the offender to an appropriate provider for a minimum of 16 weeks of additional treatment.

Participants may be allowed supplement the treatment with attendance at a self-help group such as Alcoholics Anonymous. The IDRC monitors compliance and will report noncompliance to the courts and Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC). Satisfactory participation in IDRC is a requirement toward restoring your license. Failure to comply may result in additional license suspension and jail time.

IDRC fees and other related charges may apply:

  • $100 attendance fee  MVC
  • $230 first offender fee  IDRC
  • $280 second offender fee  IDRC
  • $100 license restoration fee  MVC

Resistance is Futile.  Once sentenced, it is in your best interest to comply with the IDRC requirements set forth by the court and the IDRC personally.  Failure to comply will only cost additional money in fines, center fees and attorney fees.

Those who have been charged with a DUI and are in need of legal help from an experienced NJ DUI Attorney, may call the Simon Law Group at 1-800-709-1131 or submit a request via its website:


 New Jersey DUI
 Drunk Driving

This news content may be integrated into any legitimate news gathering and publishing effort. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.