Deliver Your News to the World

Schafer Names Members, Alternates To The National Peanut Board


WASHINGTON, Aug. 2008 - Agriculture Secretary Ed Schafer today reappointed two members and one alternate member and appointed three new members and four new alternate members, to serve on the National Peanut Board. All of the members will serve three-year terms of office beginning Jan. 1, 2009, and ending Dec. 31, 2011.

Those reappointed are: members George Jeffcoat, Gordon, Ala., and Jeffery W. Pope, Drewryville, Va. and alternate member Clarke England Fox, Capron, Va.

The new appointees are: members Michael H. Davis, Greenville, Fla.; Donald Self, Hamilton, Miss.; and Cindy D. Belch, Conway, N.C.; and alternate members Charles Clancy Turner Jr., Black, Ala.; Jeffery C. Pittman, Bascom, Fla.; John Michael Pillow, Yazoo City, Miss. and Dan Ward, Clarkton, N.C.

USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service provides oversight and monitors the operations of the National Peanut Board in accordance with the Commodity Promotion Research and Information Act of 1996 and the Peanut Promotion, Research and Information Order.

The board is authorized to collect assessments from domestic producers, who pay the rate of 1 percent of the total value of all farmers’ stock peanuts sold. These assessments allow the board to conduct generic promotion and research for consumer and producer information, as well as maintain, develop and expand markets for peanuts.

More information about the research and promotion programs can be found at


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.