Deliver Your News to the World

Avid and Digital Content Producer Announce Finalists in “Perfect Pitch” Film Competition


Contest videos draw nearly 8,000 votes; final round to be judged by film experts including Jake Abraham, Jon Fauer, Stacey Parks, Kevin Tent and Gary Winick

TEWKSBURY, Mass., May 2008 — Avid Technology, Inc. (Nasdaq: AVID) and Digital Content Producer Magazine today announced the top 20 finalist videos in the “Perfect Pitch” competition – a contest that challenges aspiring filmmakers to pitch their film ideas in 60 seconds or less. The competition kicked off in January 2008 at the Sundance Film Festival and drew nearly 8,000 votes on the contest website during the initial peer-voting round that ended on April 1. Voting was open so that anyone visiting could cast their votes for the best videos. As a result, the top 20 contestants have advanced to the final round, in which they will submit a business plan detailing how best to get their films produced professionally. A panel of seasoned film experts, including director Gary Winick and editor Kevin Tent, will select one grand prize winner in June who will receive a package valued at more than $25,000. The package will include:

Consulting time with distribution expert - Stacey Parks;
Consulting time with cinematography expert - Jon Fauer;
Exposure to leading Hollywood filmmakers – Jake Abraham, Kevin Tent and Gary Winick;
The top 20 finalists are:
Alex Adler – Can You Declare Love?
Noury Bench – Judging my Women
Michael Bilski – Pest Control
Peter Cavanagh – Into the Westies
David Cottingham – Bone China
Glenn Forbes – Violins and Coarse Language
Heather Fraser – PeepHole
Steve Gybels – Final Stay
Pierre Kuhl – Manual for Becoming Famous
Michael Mouyal – Seawars
Andi Nakasone – From Alive, to Alaska
Akshay Navle – Fast Tracks and Short Cuts
Christopher Parker – Political Engagement
Chad Perkins – The Holler
Prabu Selvam – Naanum Neeyum You and I
Jonas Smensgard – SMS from God
David Ralph Smith – Bounty
Kyoka Tsukamoto – Dreams and Mirrors
Philip Tatler IV – Orphans
Steven Van Elk – Shrinkability
All of the finalists will receive Avid® Media Composer® software and a three-month membership to Film Specific. Film Specific focuses on independent film and program distribution, and provides filmmakers and content producers with tools that enable them to compete effectively in the marketplace. The panel of judges will select one grand prize winner and four runners-up to be announced in June. Judges include:
Jake Abraham – Producer (Lovely by Surprise, Flakes, Starting Out the Evening),
Jon Fauer, A.S.C. – Cinematography Expert (American Society of Cinematographers member and author of Film and Digital Times),
Stacey Parks – Distribution Expert (founder of Film Specific and author of The Insider’s Guide To Independent Film Distribution),
Kevin Tent, A.C.E. – Film Editor (About Schmidt, Blow, Election, The Golden Compass, Sideways), and
Gary Winick – Director (Bride Wars, Lipstick Jungle, Ugly Betty, Charlotte’s Web, 13 Going on 30).

“Avid is providing an amazing opportunity for aspiring filmmakers to get noticed by supplying resources to help take their film from a concept on paper to the big screen,” said Gary Winick, director of films such as 13 Going on 30, Charlotte’s Web and the forthcoming feature film Bride Wars. “As a director, I’ll be evaluating the top 20 finalists’ film submissions with a focus on the creative elements - to determine if the proposed concept is something that will captivate and move an audience. I look forward to checking out some of the next generation filmmakers out there.”
© 2008 Avid Technology, Inc. All rights reserved. Product features, specifications, system requirements and availability are subject to change without notice. “Perfect Pitch” competition is void where prohibited or restricted by law. No purchase necessary. Participation in the competition is subject to the official rules available at Avid, Digidesign, Film Composer, M-Audio, Media Composer, Pinnacle Systems, Sibelius, Softimage, and Sundance Digital are either registered trademarks or trademarks of Avid Technology, Inc. or its subsidiaries in the United States and/or other countries. Emmy is a registered trademark of ATAS/NATAS. Oscar is a trademark and service mark of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Grammy is a trademark of the National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences, Inc. All other trademarks contained herein are the property of their respective owners.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.