Deliver Your News to the World

Schafer Appoints National Pork Producers Delegate Body


Agriculture Secretary Ed Schafer today appointed 155 pork producers and eight importers to the 2008 National Pork Producers Delegate Body. All appointees will serve a 1-year term. The delegates were selected from nominees submitted by state pork producer associations and importer groups. Delegates meet annually to recommend the rate of assessment, determine the percentage of assessments that state associations will receive and nominate producers and importers to the 15-member National Pork Board. The Delegate Body will be seated during the March 6-8, 2008, National Pork Industry Forum in St. Louis, Mo.

Appointed members representing pork producers by state are:

Alabama: Joseph C. Hall, Mark G. Pennington

Alaska: Jeannie L. Pinkelman, Russell A. Pinkelman

Arizona: Lawrence W. Beck, Michael D. Terrill

Arkansas: Jack A. Gourley, Steve C. Stephan

California: Steve P. Egbert, Ronald Luis

Colorado: David K. Amundson, Brett B. Rutledge

Connecticut: Charles E. Rowland

Delaware: Henry C. Johnson IV, John B. Tigner, Jr.

Florida: Tommy R. Crawford, James W. Wood

Georgia: Dania S. DeVane, Glen Walters,

Hawaii: Wayne I. Shimokawa, Evelyn A. Telles

Idaho: Bradley K. Thornton, Lisa C. Thornton

Illinois: Gary L. Asay, Phillip J. Borgic, David L. Conrady, Michael E. Haag, Brent E. Scholl, Darrell D. Stitzel, Brian D. Sturtevant

Indiana: Nancy E. Cline, C. Randall Curless, Levi J. Huffman, Mark H. Legan, Michael S. Lewis

Iowa: Stephen J. Burgmeier, Rodney G. Dykstra, Chad W. Grouwinkel, Howard T. Hill, Bryan K. Karwal, Chad R. Keppy, Steven L. Kerns, Greg R. Lear, Curtis D. Meier, O. Eugene Moody, David E. Moody, Dale G. Reicks, Marvin J. Rietema, Larry J. Sailer, Timothy J. Schmidt, Gregory J. Schroeder, Leon C. Sheets, Derrick D. Sleezer, Scott W. Tapper, Bill J. Tentinger, Donald H. Toale, Eugene D. Ver Steeg, John E. Vossberg, John P. Weber, Todd A. Wiley

Kansas: Chris C. Cox, Alan J. Haverkamp, Michael L. Springer, Ronald F. Suther

Kentucky: Maurice W. Heard, A. Mark Reding

Louisiana: William E. Fletcher, Harvey H. Patton III

Maine: Robert W. Cattan, Barrett A. Parks

Maryland: Thomas G. Hartsock, Patrick A. Rodgers

Massachusetts: Lisa D. Colby

Michigan: David B. Cheney, Patrick M. Hunter, Edward L. Reed

Minnesota: Rachel F. Anthony, Samuel K. Baidoo, Duane H. Bakke, Lynn J. Becker, William L. Crawford, Gregory M. Fox, Curtis J. Johnson, Craig A. Mensink, Burton A. Norell, Karen J. Richter, Bradley T. Stevermer, Douglas K. Wenner

Mississippi: James A. Hogue, Charles R. Power

Missouri: James E. Fisher, Everett L. Forkner, William D. Kessler, Walter J. Swier

Montana: Donald L. Herzog, John W. Rauser

Nebraska: David L. Harrington, Troy D. McCain, Terry D. O’Neel, Todd T. Stuthman, Greg L. Wortman

Nevada: Becky A. Louk, David S. Louk

New Hampshire: Doreen R. Gitschier, Jennifer L. Lamper

New Jersey: Kenneth J. Southard

New Mexico: Brent M. Van Dyke

New York: Sandra L. Hartman, Charles Miller

North Carolina: Curtis G. Barwick, Donald P. Butler, Henry Faison, Robert C. Hunt, Miriam N. Lewis, Zack McCullen III, L. Benjamin Outlaw III, George H. Pettus, Gregory A. Sconyers, Miles T. See, Jeffery J. Warren, Kraig A. Westerbeek

North Dakota: Daryl H. Dukart, Wayne A. Trottier

Ohio: Jim L. Albaugh, Anthony J. Bornhorst, Douglas D. Dawson, Gregory R. Kaffenbarger

Oklahoma: Karen D. Brewer, Lonnie C. Hoelscher, Charles E. Luthi, Joe C. Popplewell

Oregon: Richard C. TenEyck, Steven R. Wuergler

Pennsylvania: Oscar J. Manbeck, David A. Reinecker, Thomas A. Sollenberger

South Carolina: Larry B. DeHart, John R. Harris

South Dakota: Steven R. Rommereim, David J. Uttecht, John D. Wipf

Tennessee: Dennis A. Holder, Jamey C. Tosh

Texas: Florentino Lopez, Stanley M. Young

Utah: Kenneth B. Arnold, Linda L. Noyes

Virginia: Rex W. Alphin, Donald H. Horsley

Washington: D’Angelo Belton, Asa T. Timm

Wisconsin: Allen J. Ries, Jonathan J. Wyttenbach

Wyoming: Frosty Malone, Shawn M. Shmidl

Importers appointed to the Delegate Body are: David E. Biltchik, Robert S. Gellert, Frank D. Jensen, Stig H. Kjaeroe, Rich Maebert, Ole Nielsen, Albert F. Pish and Roland L. Schinbeckler.

Established under the Pork Promotion, Research, and Consumer Information Act of 1985, the Delegate Body and the National Pork Board have implemented a national program designed to improve the pork industry’s position in the marketplace.

The program is funded by an assessment currently set at 0.40 percent of the market value of all hogs sold in the United States. An equivalent amount on imported hogs, pork, and pork products also is collected.

Representation on the Delegate Body is based on annual net assessments collected on sales of domestic hogs within individual states, with a minimum of two producers from each state. States have the option of not submitting nominees. Rhode Island, Vermont and West Virginia did not submit any nominees. Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Jersey and New Mexico each submitted a single nomination and Alaska submitted two.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.