Deliver Your News to the World

USDA Announces Beef Promotion Board Appointments


Acting Agriculture Secretary Chuck Conner today announced 39 appointments to the Cattlemen’s Beef Promotion and Research Board. All appointees will serve 3-year terms beginning Feb.3, 2007.

Appointed members representing cattle producers by state are: Max Bozeman, Jr., Alabama; Weldon D. Wynn, Arkansas; Manuel Rodrigues, California; Harold A. Wick, Colorado; Sidney L. Sumner, Florida; Dan D. Hinman, Idaho; Paul L. Kent, Minnesota; Dianne Sites, Missouri; Lawrence J. Switzer, Montana; David C. Schubel, New York; Brian C. Healey and Steve Smola, Oklahoma; Sharon E. Livingston, Oregon; Daniel M. Kniffen, Pennsylvania; Charles L. Ezer, Austin E. Brown III and Mary Lou Bradley, Texas; and Warren D. Viergutz, Wisconsin.

Reappointed members representing cattle producers by state or region (unit) are: Virginia K. Coelho, California; David W. Bateman, Illinois; Virginia J. Davis, Indiana; Daniel F. Petersen, Iowa; Glenda J. Flora, Kansas; Dana R. Hauck, Kansas; Ross D. Garwood, Nebraska; Doris L. Rush, Nebraska; Jeffrey L. Dahl, North Dakota; Neil C. Kayser, Northwest; Franklin J. Phelps, Ohio; Merrill Karlen, Jr., South Dakota; Robert Q. Fountain, Jr., Southeast; Robert D. Fugate, Tennessee; Richard J. Hodge, Texas; and Bobby L. Combs, Virginia.

In addition, R. Wayne Buck, Colorado was appointed to complete the term of a producer who recently resigned from the board.

Donald E. Stewart was reappointed to represent importers.

The board oversees collection of $1-per-head on all cattle sold in the United States, and $1-per-head equivalent on imported cattle, beef and beef products. In addition, the board contracts with established national, non-profit, and industry-governed organizations to implement programs of promotion, research, consumer information, industry information, foreign marketing and producer communications.

The 104-member board is authorized by the Beef Promotion and Research Act of 1985. The agriculture secretary selects the appointees nominated by beef, veal, dairy and importer certified organizations. USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service monitors operation of the board.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.