Deliver Your News to the World

Beijing 2008: nine teams qualified for menís basketball tournament


Following the EuroBasket 2007, which has just ended in Madrid (Spain), nine out of 12 teams are now qualified for next yearís Olympic menís basketball tournament. With its victory, the new European Champion team, the Russian Federation, earned its ticket for Beijing, as did Lithuania, winning the bronze medal. Spain, who finished with the silver medal in Madrid, was already qualified for the 2008 Games as 2006 FIBA World Champion.

Already qualified for the Games
The Peopleís Republic of China, as the host nation, and Spain as the 2006 FIBA World Champion, have qualified directly, while seven other countries have qualified through the continental championships: Angola (Africa), United States of America and Argentina (Americas), Islamic Republic of Iran (Asia), Russian Federation and Lithuania (Europe) and Australia (Oceania).

World Olympic Qualifying Tournament
The best-placed non-qualified teams for the Olympic Games from the five zones are entitled to participate in the World Olympic Qualifying Tournament, which will be played in mid-July 2008 and will decide the final three berths for Beijing 2008. It will be a 12-team tournament which will feature two participants from Africa (Cameroon and Cape Verde), three from the Americas (Puerto Rico, Brazil and Canada), two from Asia (Lebanon and Republic of Korea), four from Europe (Greece, Germany, Croatia and Slovenia) and one from Oceania (New Zealand).

Who will succeed Argentina?
The Olympic menís basketball tournament will be held from 9 August 2008 onwards at the Wukesong Indoor Stadium in Beijing. To find out who will succeed Argentina as Olympic champions, we will have to wait until the last day, 24 August 2008.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.