Deliver Your News to the World

Warwick Wins Three National Teaching Awards


Professor Ed Peile, Head of Division of Medical Education at the Warwick Medical School, Professor Jonothan Neelands, of the Institute of Education, and Dr Mike Neary, Director of the Centre for Excellence in Teaching and Learning , have won three of the fifty National Teaching Awards offered for 2007 by the Higher Education Academy to be used for personal development in learning and teaching.

This means that Warwick has won the maximum possible number of awards.

The National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS) recognises and rewards teachers and learning support staff in higher education in England and Northern Ireland for their excellence in teaching.

Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Teaching and Learning, Professor Michael Whitby, said:

"This proves once again that students at Warwick University are taught by some of the best lecturers in the UK.

“It also shows how the very high level of research here at Warwick informs, supports and helps undergraduate learning.”

The 50 individual award winners for 2007, chosen from 223 nominations submitted by higher education institutions across England and Northern Ireland, will each receive awards of £10,000 to support learning and teaching activities.

The new Fellows come from universities, HE colleges and conservatoires throughout England and Northern Ireland. This year both the Open University and the University of Warwick have three award winners each (the maximum number of nominations from each institution).

The Fellows will receive their awards at a ceremony and dinner in London on 19 September.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.