Deliver Your News to the World

The Music of Hairspray Comes to a Record Store, TV Screen, iPod and Cell Phone Near You


New Line Records will release the official soundtrack to the upcoming New Line Cinema film Hairspray on July 10th. The first single from that album – “Ladies’ Choice,” performed by Zac Efron (star of the blockbuster High School Musical) – will be available for digital download on May 15th, it was announced today by Jason Linn, New Line’s Executive Vice President of Music. The musical comedy Hairspray arrives in theaters nationwide on July 20th.

In addition, “The Oprah Winfrey Show” will broadcast a special Hairspray-themed episode on May 16th (check local listings) featuring a medley performance of “Ladies’ Choice” by Efron, “Good Morning Baltimore” by Nikki Blonsky (who plays Tracy Turnblad in the film), and “Run Tell That” by Elijah Kelley (who plays Seaweed in the film). Additionally, selections from the soundtrack will be available as audio and video ringtones on June 1st.

The Hairspray soundtrack will feature 17 songs from the film, including three original numbers that were created specifically for the film version of the hit Broadway musical – “Ladies’ Choice,” “New Girl In Town,” and “Come So Far.” Also featured on the soundtrack are the songs “Good Morning Baltimore,” “Welcome to the ’60s,” “Nicest Kids In Town,” and “You Can’t Stop The Beat.” The songs are performed by cast members John Travolta, Queen Latifah, Michelle Pfeiffer, Zac Efron, Amanda Bynes, Brittany Snow and Elijah Kelley among others.

The Hairspray soundtrack is produced by Marc Shaiman and features music by Shaiman and lyrics by Scott Wittman and Shaiman. It features tracks mixed by Ed Cherney (Rolling Stones, Bette Midler) and Peter Mokran (Pussycat Dolls, Christina Aguilera).

Sixteen years after the release of the original film, New Line Cinema is bringing a feature film adaptation of the Tony Award-winning Broadway production of Hairspray to life. Featuring new and original material based on John Waters’ 1988 cult classic about star-struck teenagers on a local Baltimore dance show, the comedy features a remarkable collection of talent including John Travolta, Queen Latifah, Michelle Pfeiffer, Christopher Walken, Amanda Bynes, Allison Janney, Brittany Snow, Zac Efron, Elijah Kelley, producers Craig Zadan and Neil Meron (Chicago), and director Adam Shankman (Bringing Down The House). The new screenplay for Hairspray was written by Leslie Dixon (Freaky Friday, Outrageous Fortune).


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.