Deliver Your News to the World

Delta Airlines Selects Ten New Board Members For Newly Constituted Board Of Directors


Delta Air Lines today announced that 10 individuals have been selected to serve, along with Delta Chief Executive Officer Gerald Grinstein, on a newly constituted board of directors when the company emerges from Chapter 11. The chairman of the board will be Daniel A. Carp, continuing Delta’s current governance practice of having a non-Delta executive as chairman of the board of directors.

Under the terms of the Plan of Reorganization and Disclosure Statement filed with the U.S. Bankruptcy Court, the new board of directors will consist of 11 members, including Delta’s Chief Executive Officer. Delta and The Official Committee of Unsecured Creditors agreed that the Committee, in consultation with Delta, would select the other 10 members of the post-emergence board.

Proposed Board of Directors

If the Plan of Reorganization is confirmed by the court, the new board of directors will take office on the effective date of the Plan. The following 10 outside directors will join Grinstein on the new board:

Richard H. Anderson is an Executive Vice President of UnitedHealth Group Incorporated, where he has worked for the past four years, and President of its Commercial Services Group. Prior to joining UnitedHealth, Mr. Anderson was Chief Executive Officer of Northwest Airlines. He currently serves as a director of Cargill Inc. and Medtronic Inc.

John S. Brinzo is Chairman of Cleveland-Cliffs Inc., where he previously served as Chief Executive Officer and President. For more than 20 years, Mr. Brinzo held various positions of increasing responsibility at Cleveland-Cliffs. He currently serves as a director of Cleveland-Cliffs Inc., AK Steel Holding Corporation, Alpha Natural Resources Inc. and Brink’s Company.

Daniel A. Carp was Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the Eastman Kodak Company from 2001 until his retirement in 2005. For more than 30 years, Mr. Carp held various positions of increasing responsibility at Eastman Kodak. He currently serves as a director of Liz Claiborne Inc., Norfolk Southern Corporation and Texas Instruments Inc.

Eugene I. Davis is Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Pirinate Consulting Group, LLC. Prior to founding Pirinate Consulting, he was President of Emerson Radio Corp. and Vice Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Sport Supply Group Inc. Mr. Davis is a director of several corporations, including American Commercial Lines, Atlas Air Worldwide Holdings, Knology Inc., PRG-Schultz International Inc. and Silicon Graphics Inc.

Richard K. Goeltz was Vice Chairman and Chief Financial Officer of American Express Company from 1996 until his retirement in 2000. He also held senior leadership positions at National Westminster Bancorp, Inc. and Seagram Company. Mr. Goeltz currently is a director of Aviva PLC, Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corp., New Germany Fund and Warnaco Group Inc.

David R. Goode was Chairman of the Board of Norfolk Southern Corporation from 1992 until his retirement in 2006, and an executive officer of that company since 1985. He has been a director of Delta since 1999. Mr. Goode is also a director of Caterpillar Inc. and Texas Instruments Inc. He is a member of The Business Council.

Victor L. Lund was the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of American Stores Company for seven years through its merger with Albertson’s in 1999. Following the merger, Mr. Lund served as a Vice Chairman of the Board of Albertson’s until 2002. Mr. Lund is also a director of Borders Group Inc., Del Monte (USA), DemandTec Inc., NCR Corporation and Service Corporation International.

Walter Massey is President of Morehouse College in Atlanta, Georgia. Prior to joining Morehouse, Dr. Massey has held teaching and directorship positions at institutions of higher learning and science foundations across the United States, including the University of Chicago, Brown University, The National Science Foundation and the University of California. He is a director of Bank of America Corporation, BP PLC and McDonald’s Corporation. Dr. Massey is also a director of the Commonwealth Fund, University of Chicago and the Andrew Mellon Foundation.

Paula Rosput Reynolds is the President and Chief Executive Officer of Safeco Corporation. Prior to joining Safeco, she was chairman, president and chief executive officer of AGL Resources. Ms. Rosput Reynolds has been a director of Delta since August 2004. She is also a director of Safeco Corporation and Coca-Cola Enterprises Inc.

Kenneth B. Woodrow was Vice Chairman of Target Corporation until his retirement in December 2000. He also served as that company’s President from 1994 until 1999 and held other management positions in that company from 1971 until 1994. Mr. Woodrow has been a director of Delta since 2004. He is a director of EZ Gard Industries Inc. and Visteon Corporation. Mr. Woodrow also serves as Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Hamline University.

“We’re pleased to welcome this new board to Delta,” said Gerald Grinstein, Delta’s Chief Executive Officer. "We are fortunate to have such a distinguished group of individuals serving on our Board. They represent some of the finest leaders in the business community today, possessing a broad range of talents and expertise and the highest level of commitment to integrity and ethics. We appreciate their interest in serving on our board and we look forward to benefiting from their guidance as Delta enters into a new and prosperous chapter in its history.

“I’d also like to thank Delta’s current board of directors for their service to Delta. Their contribution was critical to Delta’s transformation, guiding us from bankruptcy to our emergence as a strong and dynamic company. The dedication, judgment and expertise of these individuals was critical to that process and I’m sure that I join all of Delta’s other stakeholders in expressing gratitude for their tireless efforts,” continued Grinstein.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.