Deliver Your News to the World

Phil Robinson to Produce 2011 Governors Awards


Beverly Hills, CA – Writer-director Phil Robinson will produce the 3rd Annual Governors Awards for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, Academy President Tom Sherak announced today. He will share the duties with the producing team of Charlie Haykel and Juliane Hare of Don Mischer Productions. One or more of the Academy’s highest honors – the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award, the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award and the Honorary Award – will be presented at the event, set for Saturday, November 12.

"I am thrilled that Phil has agreed to produce our 3rd Governors Awards. He is not only a fellow board member, he is also an officer of the Academy, and a dear friend. His love of his craft, film and the Academy makes him the ideal person to produce this special event,” said Sherak. “It is also a pleasure to have Don Mischer and his associates back for their third year. Led by Charlie and Juliane, they provide the continuity that will once again give us a memorable night.”

Robinson received an Oscar® nomination for the adapted screenplay for Best Picture nominee “Field of Dreams (1989),” which he also directed. His other credits include “Sneakers” and “The Sum of All Fears.” He serves on the Academy’s Board of Governors representing the Writers Branch. Since 2007 Robinson has chaired the Academy’s International Outreach Committee and has led member delegations to Vietnam and Iran.

Haykel and Hare most recently executive produced “Oscars Red Carpet Live,” the 90-minute red carpet arrivals show that immediately preceded the 83rd Academy Awards® telecast in February. They were also consulting producers for the Oscar telecast.

The 2011 honorees will be selected at a specially convened meeting of the Academy’s Board in late August.

The Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award and the Honorary Award are Oscar statuettes; the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award is a bust of its namesake. The most recent recipients of Honorary Awards are Kevin Brownlow, Jean-Luc Godard and Eli Wallach; Francis Ford Coppola is the most recent recipient of the Thalberg Award.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.