Deliver Your News to the World

2010 World Touring Car Championship ends in Macau for BMW Team RBM.


Munich - As is tradition, the FIA World Touring Car Championship concludes with two rounds at the “Guia Circuit” in Macau (CN) this weekend. Following the decision of the FIA’s International Court of Appeal to retrospectively rule the use of the two BMW 320si GBS as non-compliant to the regulations, the drivers’ title has already been awarded in advance of the finale in Macau for the first time in its history: Yvan Muller (FR) is this year’s champion. In the Independents’ Trophy, on the other hand, three BMW privateers are still battling for the title.

Ahead of the final two races at the 6.117 kilometre circuit, Andy Priaulx (GB) from BMW Team RBM currently lies in third place in the Drivers’ Championship on 240 points. In 2005, 2006 and 2007 the driver from the Channel Island of Guernsey (GB) won the World Championship in Macau. Priaulx could still finish in a credible second place should results go his way at the narrow street circuit. Like Priaulx, team-mate Augusto Farfus (BR) already has two victories in Macau to his name. The Brazilian is currently in seventh place in the Drivers’ Championship. The 21st race of the year begins on Sunday at 11:50hrs local time (03:50hrs GMT). Race two gets underway at 13:10hrs (06:10hrs CET).

BMW Motorsport Director Mario Theissen:
“It is disappointing that, for the first time, no BMW driver is travelling to the finale of the World Touring Car Championship with a chance of winning the title. I am absolutely certain the fans would have experienced a thrilling climax. Instead, our objective at the Guia Circuit is to finish the season with good individual results. The ruling of the FIA International Court of Appeal was not what we expected. The stewards in Okayama had allowed the use of the BMW 320si GBS with sequential gearbox, thus confirming our interpretation of the rules. In addition, BMW 320si GBS cars were taking part in the past four race meetings with the approval from the FIA. The fact that this decision has now been revised retrospectively, and we therefore lose the points we won in Japan, was more than a surprise for us. However, we take this decision of the FIA as it is and congratulate Chevrolet and Yvan Muller on the title.”

Bart Mampaey (Team Principal):
“As is the case every year, we will face a big challenge in Macau. It is a circuit full of extremes: apart from Monza, the drivers reach the highest speeds of the year here, while the Melco hairpin is the slowest corner on the WTCC race calendar. We have proved often enough in the past that Macau suits our drivers. We are obviously disappointed that we no longer have the opportunity to fight for the title. Anything could have happened in Macau. Despite that, our congratulations go to Chevrolet and Yvan Muller.”

Augusto Farfus (Car number 10):
“The Guia Circuit in Macau is the dream of any racing driver. The circuit is extremely demanding. Even the most minor mistake can put you in the crash barriers. However, it is a very special feeling when you achieve a fast lap there. I will go on the attack again in Macau, and am determined to end the year with a good result.”

Andy Priaulx (Car number 11):
“It is disappointing to lose the World Championship in this manner. Despite this, I congratulate Yvan Muller. He performed well this year, and was extremely consistent. Instead of competing for the title in Macau, I will now aim to end what had previously been a successful season for me with another top result. Macau has a special place in my heart. I have won three World Championship titles there, and was already captivated by this venue when I raced there back in my Formula 3 days. The circuit there is unique.”


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.