Deliver Your News to the World

Jeremy Renner to Present at 2010 Student Academy Awards®


Beverly Hills, CA - Oscar®-nominated actor Jeremy Renner has been tapped to present at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 37th Annual Student Academy Awards ceremony on Saturday, June 12, 2010, at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater. The awards ceremony is the culmination of a week of industry-related activities and social events that the Academy will host for the 13 students from across the United States and one film student from the United Kingdom who have been selected as winners this year.

Renner was most recently seen in his Academy Award-nominated role as Staff Sergeant William James in the 2009 Best Picture winner “The Hurt Locker.” His credits include “The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford,” “North Country” and “S.W.A.T.” Renner will next be seen in “The Town,” an adaptation of the Chuck Hogan novel “Prince of Thieves,” scheduled for release this fall.

Students representing 10 U.S. colleges and universities have been named Student Academy Award winners for 2010, including first-time wins by students from the Kansas City Art Institute (Missouri) and Parsons The New School for Design (New York). A complete list of this year’s winners can be found at:

While U.S. winners know they will each receive an award, their placement – Gold, Silver or Bronze – will not be revealed until the June 12 ceremony. Gold Medal award winners receive cash grants of $5,000, Silver Medal award winners receive $3,000 and Bronze Medal award winners receive $2,000. The Honorary Foreign Film winner receives a $1,000 cash grant.

The U.S. students first competed in one of three regional competitions. Each region was permitted to send as many as three finalist films in each of four award categories. Academy members then screened the finalists’ films and voted to select the winners.
“The Confession,” the Honorary Foreign Film winner, was selected from a pool of 61 entries representing 36 countries.

The Academy established the Student Academy Awards in 1972 to support and encourage excellence in filmmaking at the collegiate level. Past Student Academy Award winners have gone on to receive 40 Oscar nominations and have won or shared seven awards. At the 82nd Academy Awards earlier this year, Pete Docter, who earned a Student Academy Award in 1992, took home the Oscar for Animated Feature Film for “Up.” He also earned a nomination for the original screenplay for the film. Additionally, Gregg Helvey, a 2009 Student Academy Award winner, received his first Oscar nomination in the Live Action Short Film category for “Kavi.”

The 37th Annual Student Academy Awards ceremony on June 12 is free and open to the public, but advance tickets are required. Tickets may be obtained online at, in person at the Academy box office or by mail. The Samuel Goldwyn Theater is located at 8949 Wilshire Boulevard in Beverly Hills. For more information, call (310) 247-3600.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.