Deliver Your News to the World

News Conference on Emerging Plant Diseases


WEBWIRE

News Advisory:

Event: News conference on emerging plant diseases

Find out the latest information on plant diseases that are significantly affecting the economy and the environment at a news conference on August 1, 2005 at 10 a.m. Central Time. The news conference will be held during The American Phytopathological Society (APS) Annual Meeting in Austin, Texas.

Leading plant disease experts will provide an update on the following diseases:

-- Citrus Canker

-- Bacterial Wilt

-- Plum Pox

-- Sudden Oak Death

-- Soybean Rust

Reporters and editors will have an opportunity to address the speakers during a Q&A session at the end of the news conference.

WHEN: Monday, August 1, at 10 a.m. Central Time (11 a.m. EDT, 9 a.m. MDT, 8 a.m. PDT)

WHERE: Austin Convention Center, Room 19B, 500 East Cesar Chavez Street, Austin, Texas 78701

To participate by telephone, call 888-872-2038 and enter guest code 1202 pound -- Please call a few minutes ahead.

Interview Opportunities: The following plant disease experts will participate in the event.

-- Tim Gottwald, USDA Agriculture Research Service -- speaking on Citrus Canker

-- Caitilyn Allen, University of Wisconsin -- speaking on Bacterial Wilt

-- Vern Damsteegt, USDA Agriculture Research Service -- speaking on Plum Pox

-- Paul Tooley, USDA Agriculture Research Service -- speaking on Sudden Oak Death

-- Matt Royer, USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) -- speaking on Soybean Rust

To receive background materials on these diseases, contact Amy Steigman at asteigman@scisoc.org or 651-994-3802.

Members of the media are extended complimentary registration to APS annual meeting events. To register for the annual meeting, contact Amy Steigman. The American Phytopathological Society (APS) is a non-profit, professional scientific organization. The research of the organizationís 5,000 worldwide members advances the understanding of the science of plant pathology and its application to plant health.



WebWireID3401





This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.